## THE STATE OF TEXAS

### COUNTY OF SABINE

On this the 13th day of June, 1966, the Commissioners' Court of Sabine County, Texas, convened in regular session at the regular meeting place thereof with the following members and officers present, to-wit:

0. A. Beauchamp

County Judge

H. W. Wright

Commissioner, Precinct No. 1

W. T. Love

Commissioner, Precinct No. 2

Commissioner, Precinct No. 3

Paul Lout

Commissioner, Precinct No. 4

Earl Smith

Clerk of the Court

W. W. Cavender

The following resolutions were accepted by the Court for consideration. RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Voting Precincts of Sabine County have been defined by the Honorable Commissioners Court of Sabine County, Texas; and,

WHEREAS, The number of these Voting Precincts in Sabine County are from 1 to 18 inclusive; and,

WHEREAS, It would be to the benefit of the people of Sabine County as a whole

to combine 5 of these Voting Precincts with other Voting Precincts of the County to wit: Fairdale Voting Precinct Number 2 with Fairmount Voting Precinct Number 12 and Bayou Voting Precinct Number 13 with Yellowpine Voting Precinct Number 7 and, Sabinetown Voting Precinct Number 14 with Hemphill Voting Precinct Number 1 and, Gravel Hill Voting Precinct Number 16 with Hemphill Voting Precinct Number 1 and, Time Voting Precinct Number 17 with Isla Voting Precinct Number 10.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Sabine County Democratic Executive Committee in Regular Session this the 7th day of June A. D., 1966, in the City of Hemphill, Texas, do recommend to the Honorable Commissioners Court of Sabine County, Texas, that these changes be ordered by said Honorable Court at their Regular Meeting in July or August, 1966 so that they shall become effective in February, 1967.

This resolution was passed by the Sabine County Democratic Executive Committee in Regular Session June 7th A.D., 1966.

/s/ Oscar P. Pate, Gnairman,
Oscar P. Pate, Chairman,
Sabine County Democratic Executive Committee
Hemphill, Texas

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, It is one of the American Principles stated in the Declaration of Independence "that all men are created equal"; and,

WHEREAS, The Commissioners Precincts of Sabine County have not been equally apportioned in Sabine County for the past several years, which is a fact known to most of us; and,

WHEREAS, It seems to us that it is high time for the Honorable Commissioners Court of Sabine County, Texas to establish the 4 Commissioners Precincts of Sabine County to where more of the people of Sabine County will have more equal representation in your Honorable Body.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Democratic Executive Committee of Sabine County that the Honorable Commissioners Court of Sabine County, Texas give serious thought to the above matter and that we would recommend that the boundary line between Commissioners Precinct Number 1 and 2 be so run so that all of the City of Pineland and the City of Brookeland be in Commissioners Precinct Number 2 and, that the other Commissioners Precinct lines be so established that the people who reside in Commissioners Precincts 1, 3, and 4 may be more equally represented in your Honorable Body.

This resolution was passed by the Sabine County Democratic Executive Committee in Regular Session June 7, A.D., 1966.

/s/ Oscar P. Pate
Oscar P. Pate Chairman,
Sabine County Democratic Executive Committee,
Hemphill, Texas

Action on the above resolution was deferred pending further study. All accounts were allowed and made payable.

There being no further business, the Court adjourned.

with the following members and officers present, to-wit:

O. A. Beauchamp

County Judge

H. W. Wright

Commissioner, Precinct No. 1

W. T. Love

Commissioner, Precinct No. 2

Paul Lout

Commissioner, Precinct No. 3

Earl Smith

Commissioner, Precinct No. 4

W. W. Cavender

Clerk of the Court

Upon a motion by Commissioner W. T. Love and seconded by Commissioner Earl Smith and with all members voting "Aye" the Court accepted and adopted the following:

#### AGREEMENT

# ESTABLISHING THE DEEP EAST TEXAS REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION

WHEREAS, the Counties of

State of Texas, have common problems of transportation, water supply, drainage, and land use, and have common or interrelated forms and problems of urban development and population concentrations, economic development and resources utilization, and conservation; and

WHEREAS, said counties deem it in the public interest to establish the Deep East Texas Regional Planning Commission, in accordance with the provisions of Article 1011m, T.R.C.S.,

NOW, THEREFORE:

Section 1. The Deep East Texas Regional Planning Commission is hereby established by the participating governmental units, having common problems as stated above. The areas of the member counties of said Commission shall comprise the Deep East Texas Regional Planning Area.

Section 2. The Deep East Texas Regional Planning Commission is created by said counties as a means whereby said counties and other governmental units, public and private organizations within the Regional Planning Area may join together and cooperate with one another to improve the health, safety and general welfare of the citizens of the Regional Planning Area.

Section 3. The Deep East Texas Regional Planning Commission shall consist of one representative from each county government for each 5,000 persons or fraction thereof living within said county, except that no county government shall have more than five representatives on said Planning Commission, according to the latest population, and one representative each of all other member governmental units within the planning area, said representatives shall be known as members of the Deep East Texas Regional Planning Commission.

#2.. Agreement, Deep East Texas Regional Planning Commission.

Section 4. The term of office of the members of the Deep East Texas Regional Planning Commission that are elected officials shall be the same as their elective