## THE STATE OF TEXAS

## C OUNTY OF SABINE

On this the 22nd day of January 1979, the Honorable Commissioners Court met in regular session with the following present, to-wit:

Royce C. Smith

County Judge

R. E. Smith

Commissioner, Precinct No. 1

G. W. Russell, Jr.

Commissioner, Precinct No. 2

Eldridge Ellison

Commissioner, Precinct No. 3

County Clerk

Minnie Gooch

Mr. & Mrs. D. C. Rudd appeared before the court about taxes on Western Auto Store. Motion by Commissioner R. E. Smith seconded by Commissioner G. W. Russell, Jr. to adjust taxes to \$5000.00 on Store and \$5000.00 Inventory. All voted in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner G. W. Russell, Jr., seconded by Commissioner Eldridge Ellison and with all voting in favor of the motion an adjustment was made on Ben Bosemanitax statement.

· Y Stor s

Motion by Commissioner R. E. Smith, seconded by Commissioner Eldridge Ellison that Tax Assessor-Collector Marie White be given \$300.00 from General Fund as petty cash fund for making change. All voted in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner R. E. Smith, seconded by Commissioner Eldridge Ellison to pay Connie Lee \$2.90 per hour for 4 days work in tax office. Motion carried.

Upon a recommendation by Marie White, motion was made by Commissioner R. E. Smith and seconded by Commissioner Eldridge Ellison to hire Cindy Bennett as temporary worker in tax office at a salary of \$2.90 per hour. All voted in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Jimmy Vickers, seconded by Commissioner R. E. Smith to send letter to Firestone Tire Company stating that the Commissioners and County Judge have authority to order and purchase their own supplies. All voted in favor of the motion.

Upon a recommendation by the auditing firm Axley and Rode, motion by Commissioner R. E. Smith, seconded by Commissioner Eldridge Ellison to notify First State Bank to let Officers Salary checks and General County checks clearathe bank as regular checks. All voted in favor of the motion, motion carried.

Motion by Commissioner R. E. Smith, seconded by Commissioner G. W. Russell, Jr. to move County School Census records into the County Treasurer's Office and give Ollie Faye Sparks authority to sign certificates for same. Motion carried.

Motion by Commissioner R. E. Smith, seconded by Commissioner G. W. Russell, Jr. and with all voting "Aye" the following bonds were approved: Minnie Gooch, County and District Clerk; Ollie Faye Sparks, County Treasurer; Mike Carmicahel, Justice of the Peace Pct. #5; Ralph McBride, Constable Pct. #4; Thomas Ladner, Constable Pct. #5; Donna Dupre', Deputy Tax Assessor-Collector; Richard Bass, Justice of the Peace Pct. 1; Jimmy Vickers, County Commissioner Pct. #4; G. W. Russell, Jr. County Commissioner Pct. #2.

Herman and Marie Oliver appeared before the Court to request that the road leading to the old Gordy Mound place be designated as a County road. Lillian Cordray, Rex Mathews and Burnis Stewart verified that the road had been there back as far as 1921. Motion by Commissioner G. W. Russell, Jr. seconded by Commissioner R. E. Smith and with all voting "Aye" the court declared this to be a County Road.

Motion by Commissioner R. E. Smith, seconded by Commissioner G. W. Russell, Jr. to install telephone in Probation Office with long distance calls to be paid for by Credit Card. All voted in favor of the moiton.

Motion by Commissioner R. E. Smith, seconded by Commissioner G. W. Russell, Jr. and by unanimous consent the court authorized Clerk to advertise for bids for a county Depository.

Grievance Committee was drawn from Grand Jury panels for 1979. Those drawn were James Arney, Tommy White and A. B. Clark, Sr.

Motion by Commissioner R. E. Smith, seconded by Commissioner Eldridge Ellison and by unanimous consent the Revenue Sharing check in the amount of \$15,249.00 was divided five ways equally.

Bond was approved for T. E. Morris as Justice of the Peace, Justice Precinct No. 2.

Accounts were allowed and made payable.

There being no further business, the court adjourned.

•

COMMISSIONER, PRECINCT NO. 1

AMMISSIONED DECIMENT NO 3

COMMISSIONER, PRECINCT NO. 3

Mod present
COMMISSIONER, PRECINCT NO. 4

Minney Hooch
CLERK OF THE COURT