Monday, January 14, 1991, the Sabine county Commissioners' Court met in a regular session at 8:30 A. M., with the following members present:

Carlin McDaniel

Lynn Smith

Commissioner, Prct. # 1

Lynn Smith

Commissioner, Prct. # 2

James H. Conn

Commissioner, Prct. # 3

Chester Cox, Sr.

Commissioner, Prct. # 4

Nadine Gary

County Clerk

Meeting was called to order by Judge Pro-tem, Chester Cox. Brother Clarence Howell led the opening prayer.

Procedures for the selection of a County Judge were discussed. Commissioner Carlin McDaniel explained they will start interviewing applicants at 1:00 P. M. Each interview will last 15 minutes. Commissioner McDaniel made the motion to take a 15 minute break ever 1-1/2 hour. This was seconded by Commissioner Smith, and motion carried. Commissioner McDaniel stated that Ronnie Crowell and Jesse Conn had withdrawn. Also the Judge Pro-tem is elgible to vote.

Written reports were reviewed. Commissioner McDaniel made the motion to approve reports. Commissioner Conn seconded, and motion carried.

There will be a called Commissioners' Court meeting Friday, January 18th. Some items for the agenda are: Regional Solid Waste, J. P., Prct. 3, Discussion of fees for dumps, and Clarice Clark, J. P., Prct. 5.

Commissioner Chester Cox presented a certificate of Outstanding Service Award from the Secretary of State for Diane Husband, Voter Registrar. Motion was made by Commissioner McDaniel, and seconded by Commissioner Smith to accept this certificate as a matter of record. Motion carried.

Clarice Clark, J. P. from Prct. 5, met with the court concerning buying supplies for setting up her office. No action was taken at this time. She will meet with the court again Friday.

Motion was made by Commissioner Jimmy Conn, and seconded by Commissioner Carlin McDaniel, to pay off time warrant out of Solid Waste Fund for 5 acres of land near Pineland in Precinct:2. Motion carried. The principal on this time warrant is \$5,000.00; interest is \$599.31, making a total payment of \$5,599.31.

The Salary Grievance Committee for 1991 was drawn. These names were drawn from a list of those who served on the Grand Jury in 1990. Names drawn were Charlene Kilcrease, Margie Moore Calhoun, and Nelda K, Warr. Commissioner Lynn Smith made the motion to appoint our County Attorney to serve along with names drawn. Commissioner McDaniel seconded, and motion carried. Others who will serve are County Judge, District Clerk, County Clerk, County Treasurer, Tax Assessor Collector, and Sheriff.

Arthur Ellison was on the agenda, but was not present.

MHMR Pledge was presented. Motion was made by Commissioner

Jimmy Conn, and seconded by Commissioner Lynn Smith, to table
this until our regular meeting January 28th. Motion carried.

J. Ross Sherohman, with Deep East Texas Council of Government presented the court a Regional Mapping & Addression Resolution for 9-1-1 Emergency Telephone Number System. Commissioner McDaniel made the motion to adopy this resolution. Commissioner Smith seconded, and motion carried.

Motion was made by Commissioner Jimmy Conn to reimburse Commissioner McDaniel and Commissioner Smith for expenses to the Legislative Reception in Austin January 7 and 8th. Commissioner Cox seconded, and motion carried.

Commissioner McDaniel made the motion which was seconded by Commissioner Conn to divide the Forest Service money as listed, after making the change to deposit Commissioners' salaries into R & B instead of salary fund. Motion carried.

Court re-convened at 10:30 A. M., after a 15 minute recess.

Commissioner Cox made the motion to appoint Commissioner McDaniel as Board Member to D.E.T.C.O.G. Commissioner Conn seconded, and motion carried.

Motion was made by Commissioner Conn to approve payment of Social Security, Withholding, Retirement Report, Workers' Compensation Insurance Fund Report, County Group Insurance report, Unemployment report, utilitybills and telephone bills when due. This was seconded by Commissioner McDaniel, and motion carried.

Upon the recommendation of Diane Husband, Tax Collector, Commissioner Carlin McDaniel made the motion to not refund tax money to Faydell Williams. This motion was seconded by Commissioner Conn, and motion carried. The Tax Law states to refund only to property owner. (Section 31) Mrs. Williams had reportably paid taxes for her sister in a petition deed.

Keith Denby, a Motorola representative, was on the agenda, but was not present. This was concerning the radio tower for the jail. Mr. Denby will be on the agenda again January 28th.

Motion was made by Commissioner McDaniel to advertise for bids for County Depository. Commissioner Conn seconded, and motion carried. Bid opening will be February 11th at 9:00 A. M.

Commissioner Conn made the motion to pay accounts and salaries. Commissioner McDaniel seconded, and motion carried.

Commissioner Lynn Smith made the motion, which was seconded by Commissioner Jimmy Conn, to authorize County clerk, Nadine Gary to notify the Texas Department of Health that the duties of the local registrar will be assumed by Judge Thomas J. Hamilton only as local registrar for Precinct #1. Motion carried.

Court recessed until 1:00 P. M.

At 1:00 P. M. Commissioner Chester Gox called the meeting back to order.

Commissioner McDaniel explained they had a mail in application from Dr. Mary E. Davidson. They would accept this name since it was mailed January 4, and they were at fault for not opening mail in time. Commissioner McDaniel made this motion, and was seconded by Commissioner Smith. Motion carried.

Motion was made by Commissioner Lynn Smith and seconded by Commissioner Jimmy Conn to go into Executive session for screening of applicants for County Judge. Motion carried.

JANUARY 15, 1991

Carry over meeting from Executive meeting January 14, 1991 to go back into executive session to interview 2 top applicants for office of county Judge. Those are Richard L. Smith and Dr. Mary E. Davidson.

Went back into executive session at 9:05 A. M.

Upon returning to open session at 11:45, Commissioner Smith made the motion to appoint Richard L. Smith as County Judge for the next 2 years or until the next General Election. Commissioner Conn seconded, and motion carried, with all voting for.

Commissioner McDaniel made the motion that meeting adjourn. commissioner Smith seconded, and motion carried.

Calin In Daniel COMMISSIONER, PRCT. # 1

ØMMISSIONER, PRCT. # 3